Sleeping with Big Boobs

As the title might suggest, this post is NOT about snuggling up to a big set of boobs. Or maybe it is 😉

I kid, I kid.

For those of us ladies whom are “well endowed”, sleeping can sometimes be troublesome.

Lay on your back, your boobs are up to your chin, smooshing your face.

Lay on your stomach, you squish your boobs and they hurt in the morning.

Lay on your side, and they’re just laying on top of each other, squishy and unsupported.

 

I read somewhere recently that laying on your back is actually “the best” for relieving pressure off your breasts and keeping them from being sweaty, etc.

But let’s face it. Not all of us sleep on our back (or can because of our breast size). I, for one, tend to sleep kind of half on my stomach, half on my side. Think this position:

 

The website listed for the image says this about this side sleeping position:

Good for: Preventing neck and back pain, reducing acid reflux, snoring less, sleeping during pregnancy
Bad for:
 Your skin and your breasts
The scoop:
 Side-sleeping is great for overall health—it reduces snoring and keeps your spine elongated. If you suffer from acid reflux, this is the next best thing to sleeping on your back. The downside: “Sleeping on your side can cause you to get wrinkles,” Dr. Glaser says. Blame all that smushing of one side of your face into the pillow.

This pose also contributes to breast sag, since your girls are dangling downward, stretching the ligaments, says Health’s Medical Editor Roshini Rajapaksa, MD.

Oh darn! Breast sag?!

WELCOME…..the BOOB PILLOW!!

No, it’s nothing special. I just have a really thick and firm pillow for my head, and then I have a somewhat firm pillow that I wrap my arms around and use to separate my breasts from each other. Busts 4 Justice briefly mentions something like this, but it looks a little bit weird. I seriously cannot sleep if I do not have my boob pillow in the proper place; and if I roll over in the night to lay on my other side, the boob pillow comes with me. I’ve never tried a sleep bra and I’m not sure it would work. Also, underwire while sleeping sounds incredibly painful.

 

***What about you ladies? What do you use to make your breasts more comfortable when you sleep? Do you sleep on your back/stomach/side? Do you wear a sleep bra?? Post your answers in the comments below.***

9 thoughts on “Sleeping with Big Boobs

  1. That’s a great idea! I get a new large cuddley teddy bear each Christmas from my husband, and it does exactly the same job as the big pillow!

  2. Pingback: Most Popular Posts of 2012 | Fussy Busty

  3. I sleep on my front with my arms crossed under my pillow some don’t crush mine! (And so I don’t snore too loud!) 🙂 great blog, lots of love 🙂

  4. Hmm weird… I’m 32G and have slept on my stomach (or half-stomach, half-side) all my life without suffering any boob pain, I wonder if it has sth to do with tissue structure (opinions about firm/soft boobs causing more pain when squished against chest wall seem to contradict, though…) or if it’s more a personal matter? During teenage years I used to be more insecure about my somewhat jiggling soft boobs so I slept in “normal” underwired bras especially when having a boyfriend staying overnight, gosh how uncomfortable that was… anyway haven’t done that for ten years, nowadays I use no sleeping bra whatsoever and my boobs are soo happy free 🙂 It feels like I can’t get my upper back and neck muscles relaxed for good sleep if wearing a bra.

  5. This is a new concern for me, as I’ve grown three cup sizes in the last year (ai-ya! I blame premenopause). I sleep the way you do, minus the boob pillow. (On my back, I snore–which wakes everyone up, including me–so that’s out.) I’ve taken to stuffing a corner of the blanket between Bonnie and Clyde (just made that up; wonder if it will stick?), but I wake up each time it falls out, then wake up with a sore back in the morning, because the weight of them hanging sideways, unsupported, is hurting me between the shoulder blades. I tried a rolled up sock tucked into my bra, but that popped out too. The cheap lycra-blend stretchy bras which I’ve been sleeping in for the last decade aren’t cutting it anymore–they don’t give the side support and separation I seem to need nowadays. Feh, it’s bad enough I have to pay through the nose to truss myself up comfortably during the day! But the back pain and lack of sleep is a compelling reason to budget it in, somehow. The separation issue is going to be tricky.

Tell us what you think!

