Boudoir Session

So, I spent the week leading up to my boudoir session writing about different tips for getting ready for a boudoir session. So, here I am. I’ve gotten all of my photos back and I wanted to do a bit of a write up and share some of the photos.

Images are by Kent and Stephanie Photography.

The experience itself: So, it was fun and interesting. As a plus size woman, I’ve always struggled with my own body image, so it was very very much out of my comfort zone to have a photo shoot like this. Typically, only the men I have been with have seen me in such a state of undress (and only my husband, now).  I am a fairly private person – believe it or not – so it was very new for me. Thankfully, my photographer – Stephanie – is someone that I went to high school with. We did musicals together, were in marching band, etc, etc…So I was familiar with her. It was sweet because she is due this month, so it was kinda comical to watch her get into positions to take photos with a very pregnant belly. She was professional, complimentary ( “you’re sooo beautiful!!!” ) and did her best to make sure that I was at ease and comfortable. All in all, I would definitely recommend Stephanie and her husband as photographers (check out their site….lots of great work), and Stephanie in general.

Would I ever do it again? No. But that’s not because I had a bad experience. Just too far out of my comfort zone!

Anyways, without further ado, I wanted to share some of my favorite photos from the session! Be kind!  I’ll refrain from body snark about my *own* body, but I have to say, in the fourth photo, you can really see how much migrated tissue I have on the sides from wearing the wrong size bra for sooo long. Just remember, this is why scooping and swooping is SO important.

 

Well, lingerie knows no size. 

nr-7a

nr-9

 

nr-16

nr-21a

 

nr-20

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “Boudoir Session

  1. You look great! Nice bra too. Is that Panache Andorra? I am just curious, what does your husband think about what you have shared? I think I have seen so many women (and men) in their bras or naked as a bra fitter that it has somewhat changed my perception of nudity, but I will likely never post of pic of myself because I just know that will not go over well with my hubby.

    • I never would have started my blog had I not had the support of my husband. He understands the purpose – empowering plus size women – and that’s more important than anything else.

    • Sorry that was so short! I had company over and was distracted.

      Yes, the Andorra.

      And yeah, like I mentioned, my husband is in full support. And I had many more photos that were more revealing. And you see so much more out there that I don’t think this is really all that bad. Maybe it’s because I am plus size? Anyways, my self-esteem has come a long way, and he is proud that I am feeling more confident and am willing to share what I have learned with other plus size women.

      • Your images are very tastefully done and I think every lingerie blogger that willing to share photos of themselves is helping to break barriers that we as women create for ourselves and that society re-enforces. I really don’t think size matters. You and I might look at someone and think “oh she has the perfect figure” When she comes into my fitting room she is complaining about non existent “back fat” . Its wonderful that your husband is so supportive and understanding.

    • Yeah, definitely not wearable outside the bedroom. And to be honest, it’s something I was only planning on wearing for the photos. It’s not really my style, but I thought it would photograph well!

  2. WOW! You look totally amazing. I realise that they are sexy, but I wouldn’t say they are particulalry revealing, most women show off more at the beach or pool nowadays anyway!

  3. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. They’re very lovely, feminine, and intriguing, which is part of the fun of lingerie! I love the sass in #5, and I think you picked fantastic pieces to wear for the shoot! Rock on, sexy lady!

    • Oh thank you Sweets! 🙂 Truly sweet, indeed. I think that it’s an experience that is good for every woman, no matter what. Even if you can’t be objective about it, beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

      I think my plan is to do this again after I’ve lost all of the weight that I want to lose and then compare! 😛

  4. Pingback: Boudoir Photography Week: The Day of the Shoot | Sweet Nothings

Tell us what you think!

