The Deco Flamingo reviewed (28G), and notes on moving up a cup size.

So this is a 28G, not my usual size of 28FF, or 28F that I’d get in a deco, I’ve finally accepted the fact that I need to buy a cupsize or two bigger. It took me a while to do this, my 28FFs have probably been edging on the small side for about 6 weeks now, because I had the feeling I can’t be a a G cup (maybe some letterphobia), and I don’t want to have to renew my hard-worked bra collection either, my bras are my babies.

So what were the signs? 1. Straps. If you find yourself loosening them more than usual to make the bra fit better, the cups might be too small. 2. Quadboob. There’s a fine line between cleavage and quadboob sometimes, you have to learn where that is for you. I had been wearing half cups too, which doesn’t quadboob as obviously but gives a squashed boob effect from the side. 3. The band feels tighter than normal. Too small cups can make the whole bra feel too tight, check the cups before going up a band size. 4. Constant readjustment. Keep having to tuck your boobs back into your bra? Go up a cup size.

Ofcourse these symptoms can mean band issues or style discrepancies too, and there are other signs of a too small cup but these are the easiest to spot for me.

Anyway, back on topic!

Image

I have been lusting over the flamingo deco since I first caught a glimpse of it in a deco advert… maybe sometime in Jan/Feb. I have had a love/hate relationship with the deco, but it seems my go-to bra when I want a boob-pick me up, and in the correct size, it looks awesome on me.

First impressions when opening it; OMG that print is gorgeous, and OMG that bra is huge that will never fit (I had laboured a long time on whether to order the FF or G)! Turns out, it’s a great fit and the G was the better choice, I’m absolutely in love with it. 

Image

Typical deco with the roundy round shape, and cleavage, I think this is the same style as the deco honey, but with plain straps.

Image

One big plus point; the band. I’m wearing it on the loosest hook and it’s fine for me, it’s  closer to a true 28 than it’s deco predecessors.

Image

My only criticism is the side wings are a bit high for me, I have this problem with a lot of bras so it’s not specifically an issue with this one. It’s wearable just a little irritating at first.

Measurements are here

So to conclude, I love this bra, and my love for the deco is rekindled for the time being. If you’re already a deco lover, buy this or regret not having a flamingo print bra forever, if the deco is not for you, or you’re sized out of their sadly small deco range, then 😦 hopefully Freya will expand it soon!

I’m looking forward to more bold unusual prints in the next few seasons, I’m not a girly/feminine/pretty kind of bra lover, quirky and unusual colours and prints are my kind of thing, you can bet I’ll be reviewing the Patsy longline in the next few weeks!

-Amy

P.S Some other great Deco reviews by brasknickersandbeauty, investinyourchest, thelingerieaddict, fullerfigurefullerbust 

13 thoughts on “The Deco Flamingo reviewed (28G), and notes on moving up a cup size.

  1. I want this so badly! It looks awesome on you! I have the deco honey in 32GG (need to alter the band down) and also found the sides to be quite high and irritating. I thought the cups were just too high/wide because I was wearing a 32-band bra on a 29″ frame!

    • They’re not too bad I just had to get used to them, they seem to get higher with cupsize whilst my underarms don’t get any taller the bigger my boobs get…

      I don’t blame you, you should get one! I almost want to buy another so I can wear flamingo boobs everyday 😛

  2. This bra looks GREAT on you! I love the shape Deco is one of my favs and now it’s in multiway its even better 🙂

  3. Do you have a Bratabase link for this bra? I’d like to check how this one compares to the other decos in near sizes 🙂

  4. Pingback: Wishlist Wednesdays: Animals! | Filling A Niche

  5. I’m sorry, I am new to your blog, but I have some questions – maybe you have already explained the issue that I will raise:
    – Did you try a bigger band with smaller cups? To my untrained eye it looks like the wires go much too far under the armpits. It looks like you’re pushing into the cups not only the breast tissue, but also some tissue that doesn’t belong to breast. Not to mention that the band looks really stretched out and looks like it’s digging (almost painfully) into your underbust (last picture).

    It’s just an observation, based on your photos. I hope you don’t mind – this is no critisism.

    • Okay, I will address your points.

      1. I have narrow roots, so a lot of UK bras will be too wide for me, Comexim is my best fit when it comes to wire width.
      2. The band is not painful, not at all. It may be the angle of me holding the camera to take a picture that makes it look so stretched out. It is digging in due to me leaning to take a picture, it is most definitely not painful (it’s quite a stretchy band) and if it was painful I would size up in the band with no problems.

      It is hard for you to fully see in photos how a bra fits, lighting and angles can make things look different to how they actually are on me, but trust me this was a very comfortable fit for me at the time.

      Can I ask why you think I needed smaller cups? I see there is one picture where there is some gaping, but it’s due to the positioning of my arm. I can understand we have differences in how we like to wear our bands, which is no problem to me and I am happy to discuss it in a polite manner.

      • First of all, thank you for answering.

        Ad. 1. I have noticed that in most bras the wires seem much too wide for you. Comexim looks much better, but still somehow too wide. It would mean imo that you need narrow wires with a deep cup.
        Ad. 2. You are right, pictures are never the only grounds on which we should judge a bra fit, this is why I asked about the band. On the picture specially under the breast it looked as if it is digging in, but this may be caused by the angle of picture being taken, shadow, posture etc..

        On no picture have I seen gaping, but through my own experience I have found that the most important for my fit are the wires. The wires have to encompass my breast fully, not be too wide. Half a cm is OK, anything more then 1 cm is too wide. Otherwise the cups are too high in the armpit, as some of the cups act almost as the band, being pulled under the arm and rubbing against the arm (I hope you can understand what I mean). I need narrow wires and cups that are deep, and then the band that I need can be bigger, and the bra is more comfortable overall. It doesn’t rub against the armpit, it doesn’t dig at the sides. I can fit without a problem in 30 bands and 28 bands, wear them and actually feel comfortable most of the time. But I tend towards 32 and 30 bands, and find them overall better – better fit, better comfort, and more pleasing to the eye.

        This just my experience, it doesn’t work on all bras. I found this works for me mostly on halfcups and fullcups, but not on plunges, which just don’t want to work on me at all. I find the bra in the pictures really beautiful, would love for it to work on me, and I am trying to figure which size would.

        • No problem, I am open to discussion 🙂

          1.The comexim is definitely not too wide, if it was narrower it would be sitting on breast tissue which would be very painful throughout the day.
          2. I may have been sitting down when I took that picture, I’m not sure. I can see where you are coming from though.

          Since I wrote this review, I wear a 28FF bra now due to weight loss on my boobs and ribcage, and it does fit better in the wires than a 28G did. If you are interested I can show you how a 28FF deco, similar to this one ^ fits me now, I think it’s much better but I would like to know what you think.

          I absolutely understand what you are saying, I have tried to wear a 30 band and I can wear it if it is firm, but I find most of them to be too loose, I think we may just have a different preference on how a band should fit. Would you prefer to talk by email so we can discuss this more easily?

Tell us what you think!

