Lady V London; Swing dresses

As soon as I discovered Lady V London, they pretty much became my go-to place for pretty dresses. I have so far tried their wiggle dress, day dress and the swing dress which I have two of, and would wear them alternately everyday if I could. I was a little unsure of ordering to begin with, these dresses usually look amazing on girls much curvier than I, but  they turned out pretty well for me.

My dresses: Size 8 (waist 26″ bust 32″) Black ‘Birds of Fantasy’ dress that isn’t available any longer 

 Size 10 Blue floral dress (waist 28″ bust 34″), which can be seen here

And a baby blue petticoat, here

 The Birds of fantasy dress is a size smaller than the blue floral, and felt too tight on the waist after I’d sat down and eaten (my waist is around 26.5/27”) and the bust room was a little tight, although I don’t mind the ‘squashed cleavage’ look in this dress, I think it looks okay. The final problem with fit for me is the shoulders and back, I’m constantly adjusting shoulders and backs of dresses so this isn’t a specific Lady V issue, but the dress is going to need altering.

Image

Image

Image

 The Blue floral dress, in a size 10 then, fits much better on the bust whilst needing to be pinned in at the waist a little. The shoulder and back bagginess is worse, and in the pictures I have about half a packet of safety pins in the dress to make a good fit. This looks great with or without the petticoat, and I mostly wear it without because it’s easier to walk around and do practical things in on it’s own. Although wearing a petticoat does make me feel like a disney princess…

Image

Image

BUT, even though the fit is awkward for me, I will still buy these dresses anytime I have spare cash. I absolutely love them and they are worth the alterations.  I like to put a pin in the front to make a sweetheart neckline and show a little more cleavage when I’m wearing one for a night out or something other than a daytime dress, which the dress lends itself to easily:

Image

 

So I definitely recommend one of these dresses to everyone. They’re not something I would usually wear, and are longer looser and have a higher neckline than the rest of my dresses, but worth making an exception for. 

Fit: 6/10

Look: 9/10

Comfort: 8/10

-Amy (Apologies for the bad photos, I am unphotogenic and my boyfriend is a terrible photographer, so it was never destined to turn out as well as I wanted)

One thought on “Lady V London; Swing dresses

  1. You look beautiful in all of them! It seems that they wouldn’t work so well for busts at the largest end of the spectrum, though, yes? I haven’t tried one yet, and the feeling that my bust wouldn’t fit is the main reason. Do you think one would be better than the others for this?

Tell us what you think!

