Plus Size Swimwear: Elomi ‘Regatta’ SS’12

_7822971-1

The Regatta SS’12 Swimsuit, available in select sizes, up to a 22 (for the cami), and separate swim bra and bottoms

I’ve been debating for a long time about whether I wanted to post pictures of myself in a swimsuit on the blog. And then I saw that the Regatta was on sale at Nordstrom and I thought “Why not? It would be lovely to have a swimsuit with a great fitting bra underneath.”

So here’s my experience with the Regatta:

IMG_4150

IMG_4151

I ordered the cami in both an 18 and a 20, bottoms in an 18 and a 22, and the swim bra in both a 42H/HH and a 40H/HH. Pictured here is the Cami in a 20, 18 bottoms, and a 40H/HH swim bra

IMG_4152

IMG_4154

IMG_4155

The suit is comfortable, and it’s nice to have multiple pieces to build upon. The cami was $64.80, bottoms $28.80 and the swim bra was  $42.00….equating to $135.60. And that’s the sale price! Granted, you could get your own swim bottoms somewhere else for much cheaper, and/or you could just wear the swim bra under an existing swimsuit you already own. But oh my goodness.  A 2013 Elomi Swimsuit is about $230 if you buy all three pieces.

Pros: Bra based swimwear provides awesome support, and it’s nice to have the different pieces to build upon. It’s a cute style and the red drawstring lets you take the top into a deeper v-neck. I also really liked being able to order three different sizes so that I could get the best fit on ALL of my body 🙂

Cons: I’ve found that when in water, the natural buoyancy of my breasts makes the bra float, meaning that the wires drift up on the swim bra and stab me under the arms. This is exacerbated by the armholes of the swim cami being cut quite high. Needless to say, when swimming, the combination of the swim bra and cami give me a complex and I can’t stay in the water very long because it’s really uncomfortable. Also, the swim cami is flared, so with the slightest movement, the cami drifts up, exposing my midriff. For me, I don’t really feel comfortable being exposed, so a torso length cami that drifts up seems really pointless in some ways, at least for my own comfort level.

Swim bra features: Fully adjustable straps, standard bikini clasp, four part cup construction, and medium width gore

Because I got this in a sale, I certainly had some fun trying some different sizes and seeing what worked. There are still many sizes on sale out there on various websites.

-Nicole

Tell us what you think!

