Plus Size Swimwear Review: Elomi ‘Isis’ SS’13

This is what the Isis looks like on a model:

 

_7822745

 

_7822741

 

 

And this is what it looks like on me…..

IMG_4201

Photo lightened to show detail; much apologies about the graininess of the photo.

 

IMG_4202

When I tried this, I got the swim bra in a 40HH, the bottoms in a 20 and the top in a 20. All US sizes.

Here is the swim bra:

IMG_4191

 

IMG_4195

 

The bra gives a gorgeous shape from the front…and I don’t know if you can see in the second photo…but the wires are impossibly high and fairly narrow for Elomi’s bras.

I did feel as though I could have used a larger size in the swim top, but I don’t know that one was available at the time I ordered.

PROS: The swim bra is a bandeau bra and, as such, is multiway. I loved that it could be strapless, halter, racerback, or even just the traditional way. Also, the bra has boning in the front and sides of the cups to really shape your bust and hold it up. The actual style of the swimsuit is super cute, and in the right size, could be very flattering.

CONS: The wires on the side of the bra were impossibly high. Also, the band is super stretchy (and only clasps with a bikini clasp) so I was really worried about how this would do in the water. The swim top doesn’t really allow for a whole lot of bust room on the upper end of the size range, so just keep that in mind if you decide to try this. Also, the gore on the swim bra is impossibly wide. With this being a padded swim bra + a wide gore, I had a lot of fit issues. No matter what I did, I could not get the gore to lay flat. I need a thinner gore (usually 0.75″ or less) and this gore was 1″ wide at the top, 4.5″ tall, and probably closer to 2″ wide at the bottom by the band. Also, price is a con….this is on sale now, but it wasn’t when I ordered it to try it.

Happy summer!

-Nicole

 

Tell us what you think!

