Coming Out…..As an Artisan

Today, I decided I’m coming out…..as an artisan.

When I was a kid, I spent money on melt and pour soaps, candle making kits, and learned how to sew and crochet from my Grandma. I have been creating things with my hands all my life.

Around March of last year, my husband and I were talking about my love of creating things and we got this crazy idea….Why not learn how to make soap and other body products from scratch? We started doing research and learned that it would cost us about $500-600 to get things going and started. At the time, I was working part-time as a nanny and it wasn’t really an expense that we could take on. We did, however, continue to research and keep this dream in the back of our minds for a future reality. We had even created a “GoFund Me” page in hopes that family and friends would donate. Well, that never happened so we just had to wait things out.

Fast forward to June of this year. Thanks to my newest job and latest promotion, we are in a significantly better place financially. We talked about it and finally made the decision to take the risk, buy all the supplies we needed….and start making soap!

I am incredibly proud of the progress we have made (making soap from scratch has quite the learning curve), and I enjoy making things on a regular basis. We make everything using only natural ingredients, so all of our products are really great for people with sensitive skin. 

Here’s some product photos for what we have made so far:

IMG_4441

 

IMG_4446

 

IMG_4448

 

IMG_4449

 

IMG_4458

 

IMG_4469

 

IMG_4297

 

IMG_4304

 

IMG_4311

 

IMG_4348

 

IMG_4349

 

IMG_4358

Scrubs, soaps, massage oils, whipped body lotions…. It’s amazing what all you can make with similar ingredients.

I recognize that in coming out with this post, I’m also going to be revealing my full name (on my Etsy shop). Because of the nature of my work, I have always refrained from connecting my full name with the blog and I will continue to uphold this standard.

I do find, however, that I really want to share my products with my readers because I believe in the quality of them and I love the way they make my skin feel……and I think you will, too! The shop is being constantly updated as we continue to develop new products and expand our line. Look for reviews of some of our products from fellow bloggers within the next month or so.

So, without further ado…..

Click HERE to go to our Etsy shop

or… Like us on Facebook 

-Nicole

6 thoughts on “Coming Out…..As an Artisan

  1. I love this! I can’t wait to have some spare scratch to order some things which should be in the near future. I know sometimes as bloggers we can get tied to one aspect of our identity and people forget that we are multi-faceted. I’m glad you came out. 🙂

  2. I’m really happy to check out your products, but as a queer person, I really wish you had not used the phrase “coming out”. “Coming out” refers to disclosing information that carries with it a risk of shame, social stigma, and consequences for those, up to and including violence! Revealing that you make body care products carries no risk for you, nor is there any social pressure to keep that a secret.

    Coming out is a seriously risky proposition, even today, for queer people, and I think using the phrase to talk about making body care products really minimizes that and belittles the struggle of GLBT people.

    • Sorry to offend you.

      There actually are risks for me, however. My real name is attached to my etsy shop and should it become attached to my blog it could mean serious consequences for my career. So, my choice of words “coming out” are valid, at least to me. There is a pressure, due to working in the mental health field, to maintain what society considers to be moral behavior. Posting photos of myself in a bra probably doesn’t meet that standard, specifically not for my line of work.

      I certainly don’t disrespect the LGBT community in any way.

      Perspective goes a long way 🙂

      • The thing about coming out is that it is the “secret” that is the risk. I definitely understand not wanting to associate your real name with your bra blog (you also didn’t have to associate it with your body care line) but those are choices you made. You could choose differently, or even choose not to post bra pics. Queer people can’t choose to *not* be queer.

        I’m not offended, I am just, frankly, surprised, because you’ve always seemed like a sensitive person before. I am sure it isn’t your intention to be disrespectful of the struggles of the queer community, but in using “coming out” to describe something so trivial as revealing that you make body care products, that is exactly what you are doing. You are belittling the very real risks that queer people face every day.

        It sounds like you are somewhat unaware of your privilege. People are closeted because the risks of being out include *death*.

        I understand that you are taking a risk in terms of your career (though tbh, the fact that you are posting these things itself indicates that you don’t think it is much of a risk at all, if any), but it isn’t being an artisan that is the risky thing. Being an artisan is not a thing that you have to hide because you fear for your life, your family, your likelihood, your civil rights. For many of us, being queer *is* a thing we have to hide. There is really no comparison between making body care products and being queer.

        • I appreciate where you are coming from. I do. This is an issue that is very dear to my heart for many personal reasons.

          If you would like to continue this conversation, please email me. However, I don’t think that this can continue to be an appropriate forum for this conversation 🙂

          I’m open to having the conversation, just not on the blog.

          Thanks

Tell us what you think!

