What’s in store for 2014?

As the blog ventures ever closer to its second birthday, I’ve been thinking a lot about where I want the blog to go, what I’ve done, etc. etc.

I started this blog in June 2012 to write about my experience of being a plus sized woman with large boobs. At the time, there was a fairly core group of bloggers that were fairly prominent in the community, and I felt as though my size range wasn’t being represented as much. And so I started the blog. It’s been a journey, I’ve “met” some incredible other bloggers, and I have been so happy to have the blog be an outlet for my own fit frustrations, to help other women with fit, and to think critically about social issues that impact me every day.

However, as we put our toes into the waters of 2014….where will the blog be going this year? I’ve thought for some time, at great length, about putting the blog to rest. Unfortunately it’s been something I haven’t been able to keep up with and I’ve felt a lot of guilt about that. What I think I need to do is to stop thinking of the blog as homework. I need to get it back to something I enjoy doing as a stress relief that I look forward. It has felt like somewhat of a burden at times, to maintain!

The reality of blogging is that we (when I say we, I mean most of us) bloggers do this for free. I don’t get paid by any company to review bras and I certainly don’t make any money off of anything on the blog. I very rarely get items sent to me to review. For this reason, it can be hard to maintain content. Limited funds + weight gain = variable bra sizes and an inability to purchase things to review. My husband and I are saving for a down payment on a house, so bra shopping hasn’t been a #1 priority. But I digress.

Making money off of the blog has never been a goal of mine, and I didn’t set out to start a blog purely for the freebies. If those were my goals, I would be sorely disappointed! Rather, I set out to blog because I felt – and still feel – that I have a worthwhile voice in the community. Admittedly, my views have changed significantly since starting the blog, and I have matured quite a bit with regard to my opinions, etc., so things have been different. But I am still a plus size, full busted woman who experiences fit issues on a daily basis.

So what’s in store for 2014? 

If you don’t know, Panache is sponsoring a fitness campaign for the beginning of 2014, of which both Amy and I have offered to participate, as well as a couple other bloggers. What will this entail?

  • We will each review the Panache Sports Bra
  • We will be creating workout motivation playlists on Spotify
  • We’ll be pinning workout related things on Pinterest (speaking of…did you know we have a pinterest account for the blog?!)
  • And I know at least I will be writing about my fitness escapades on the blog

More than anything else, we would love for our readers to get involved as well! Use #supporteverymove to share anything related on Facebook and Twitter and we will share as well 🙂  I’m pretty excited about this and I hope you lovely readers are too!

With all that being said, I wanted to let you all know that posts from me will be more personal and may not always have anything to do with lingerie. If this is not your cup of tea, I’m sorry. Use the search functions or our categorized lists to find what you are looking for and simply gloss over everything else. In order for me to reengage and find a happy place with the blog, I want to open myself up to talking about other topics (in the downtime when I have no money for bra purchasing). It could really be anything, but will very likely be related to fitness/healthy eating, lingerie, travel, etc. I will also be delving into more of my own self-esteem issues to try and face them head on and work on them this year. I will also put a trigger warning at the top of any of these types of posts so that you can decide ahead of time if you should read them.

As always, myself and Amy are ever so thankful for our lovely readers and we really would have no reason to keep the blog alive other than you guys! 

Happy New Year!

-Nicole

 

 

 

Tell us what you think!

